Over 75 Years of Legal Insight to Work for You!

Medical Malpractice Attorney
in Marietta

Injured by a Negligent Healthcare Professional?

Have you been injured at the hands of a negligent doctor, surgeon, or hospital? If so, we urge you to contact a Marietta personal injury attorney from Jones & Swanson. As proud members of the Million Dollar Advocates Forum®, we have recovered over $50 million on behalf of our clients.

When you are up against a prominent physician or hospital, you need a competent legal advocate fighting in your corner. You can look to our accomplishments to solidify why we are the law firm to trust with your medical malpractice case.

What makes us different?

  • AV Preeminent® Rated by Martindale-Hubbell®
  • The National Trial Lawyers: Top 100 Trial Lawyers
  • A+ Rating from the Better Business Bureau
  • Selected to Georgia's Super Lawyers®
  • 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating
  • 75 years of combined experience

Medical Malpractice Basics

When a doctor fails to competently perform his or her medical duties and a patient is harmed as a result, it is called medical malpractice. To show that you have a medical malpractice claim, you will need to prove:

  • A patient/doctor relationship existed
  • The doctor was negligent
  • The doctor was directly responsible for your injury
  • That the injury resulted in specific damages (losses)

If it can be proven that a doctor performed below the expected standards of practice in his or her field, and that the patient suffered harm as a result, the patient can sue for: physical pain, mental anguish, medical bills, lost income and loss of earning capacity.

Common types of medical malpractice:

  • Surgical Errors
  • Birth Injuries
  • Anesthesia Errors
  • Object Left Behind (after surgery)
  • Wrong Site Surgery
  • Failure to Diagnose
  • Wrong Diagnosis

Georgia's Statute of Limitations

Every state has a deadline for which someone can file a medical malpractice lawsuit, this is called the "statute of limitations." In Georgia, you must start a lawsuit within two years of the injury or death, or within five years if you did not discover the injury until later after the fact.

There are exceptions to the deadline for fraudulent concealment of malpractice, for malpractice occurring before the plaintiff was five years old, and for mentally disabled plaintiffs.

Georgia previously had damage caps that limited a medical malpractice plaintiff's total recovery of non-economic damages, but those caps were ruled unconstitutional by the Georgia Supreme Court in 2010 and are no longer effective, however, the punitive damage caps are limited to $250,000 in most cases.

Contact our firm today to schedule your free case evaluation!

Why Choose Jones & Swanson?

  • Over 75 Years of
    Legal & Trial
  • Over $50 Million
    Recovered for
  • Included in the
    Georgia Super
    Lawyers® Listing
  • AV Preeminent®
    Rating by
  • Members of the
    Million Dollar
    Advocates Forum®
Request A Free Consultation or Call Us Directly at (770) 884-6652.
Request a Free Consultation