Georgia Boosts Child Passenger Safety

The Georgia legislature recently passed a new law extending the age children will be required to remain in booster seats. According to Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta, 95% of the hospital’s auto accident patients between six and eight years of age were improperly restrained.

Updated Child Passenger Safety Law

Starting July 1st of this year, legislators are hopeful that number will decline significantly as children traveling on Georgia roads are now required to be properly restrained in a booster seat or other child safety restraint until they turn eight years old. Previously, booster seats were only required up to age six.

Child Booster Seat Law Exemptions

Certain children are exempt from the booster requirement, such as those who are at least four feet nine inches tall or who weigh at least 40 pounds and are using a lap and shoulder belt. These and other exemptions existed previously and were unchanged by the new child booster seat law.

Fines For Violations

Now that the legislation has taken effect, drivers with passengers under eight who do not qualify for one of the exemptions will be subject to a citation and fine for each improperly restrained child. The first violation will result in a $50 fine while all subsequent violations carry a $100 fine.

The proper use of safety restraints is imperative to the safe operation of motor vehicles for both children and adults. However, significant injuries still can and do occur on Georgia’s roads every day. At Jones & Swanson, we represent individuals who have been injured in a variety of circumstances including motor vehicle collisions. If you, a friend, a family member, or a co-worker has been injured in such an accident, please contact our office to discuss how our car accident attorneys may be able to help.